Tuning Out Nature…

I just got a new mp3 player and have been loving it. Who doesn’t like jamming out to their favorite tunes? It makes my work day faster and more enjoyable, so why not listen to them when I’m out running, hiking or biking?  It definitely makes time go faster and keeps your focus off the pain when climbing up a massive hill. Not too long ago my wife and I were out mountain biking in the desert, and I figured it was a perfect opportunity to try out my new mp3 player on the trail. We started cruzin’ down the trail, blazing through the twists and turns, and ramped up and down the whoops. It was great; I was my own little world, singing to Jack Johnson in my head while I peddled. A couple hours later we got back to the car and packed up. My wife started recapping the trip: “Oh what a beautiful ride” she said, “did you see that huge gorgeous valley?”  I must of missed it. “Oh, the sky was so blue” she said. I guess it was, I thought. “Oh, and the smell of the wild flowers in the air was amazing, and did you see that colorful lizard?” she asked. I don’t remember either of those things. “Well, were you even on the ride?”  She asked. I thought I was, but now I’m not so sure. While I was listening to my music, I missed some awesome experiences on a  great ride. For myself, I learned that there’s no point going to great places, tossing the ear buds in, and tuning out the experience. I think I’ll save the music for the gym.

Leave a Reply

