Kelty to the test in Moab

My friends and I just took a biking/climbing trip to Moab, Utah, and I figured that it would be a great time to try out some new Kelty gear. Moab is known for epic climbing, 4wheeling, and Mt Biking. If you haven’t been I recommended you go. The landscape is out of this world and extremely unique for the Americas. Huge pillars and endless walls of red sandstone lock in the area with a desert floor consisting of red sand, desert vegetation and huge expanses of smooth, rolling sandstone that look like petrified sand dunes. Unless you want to cook in the desert heat, the best time to go is in the Spring or Fall. When we went, the temperature during the day rose to around 90+ degrees in the hot desert climate and the nights dropped to around 35 degrees.

We rolled into our campsite around 10pm with little to no moon showing. So it was dark, really dark. In the past, I usually have used just my Petzl Zipka as my light source to set up camp, however, this time, I brought a new lantern from Kelty’s new light line, the Lumatwist. I have to say that it’is the brightest light I’ve ever used for camping…and it rocked. The swivel lights were perfect for lighting up 2 areas and directing the beams where you need them. You can also just turn one side on if you’re trying to save on battery life or if you want less light.

The next piece of Kelty gear I took along with me was a new Carport Deluxe Tent. I chose this tent because I do a lot of quick weekend trips and camp out of my car. This seemed like the perfect solution for me. Keep in mind, this tent is floorless. Many people who have these use cots to raise them off the ground since there is a few inch gap in between the ground and bottom of the tent where wind can whip through. Since I have a sleep system in my car, I mainly got this tent to use as a base of operations to keep the wind, sun, and rain off me and my gear. It worked great. However, I had a few people sleep in it on the ground and they said it worked pretty well to block out most of the wind. And it was super windy. However, the tent faired really well in the wind. The polls Kelty uses for the Carport are much thicker than regular tent polls, which provided great stability in the high winds.

I did a dry run before my trip to practice setting the tent up. The first time I tried, it took me about a half hour. You have to put a lot of tension on the polls to set it up, and it took me a while to figure out that I could push one end of the tent against my car tire to flex the poles into place. Once I figured that out, the tent setup takes less than 1o mins to do by myself.  You attach it to your car roofrack with a series of burly velcro straps. With it on, I could still open all my doors, which was a bonus I wasn’t expecting.  It also comes with poles that you can use to raise the lower end to act as just a roof.

Leave a Reply

